PR is like sports…

Yes, I know what you’re thinking. How is the first post on “GirliePR” about sports?! Well, because I thought this was a great analogy by a very smart lady, Jennifer King, who does corporate PR for the Home Depot.

I was talking to Mrs. King about the differences between working in corporate and working in an agency since she has had both experiences. She summed it up like this:

Working in an agency is like cheering on a favorite sports team. You want them to win and you’re fully invested, but you’re on the outside looking in.

Working in corporate is like playing the sport. You want to win, you’re 100% immersed and you play a key role from the inside. Your team’s success is your success so you play to win!

I would like to take this fitting opportunity to prove that I do like sports and that doesn’t make me any less girlie. I wear color-coordinated outfits and scream my head off for my favorite teams:

Detroit Tigers, Detroit Red Wings, New York Mets, New York Giants, UGA Bulldawgs and U of M Wolverines.

Whoo whoo!!

About Courtney

I love to write - I even work in Corporate Communications. But my favorite thing to write are children's stories. Luckily, I have lots of little cousins to test them on!
This entry was posted in Public Relations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PR is like sports…

  1. libbydawn says:

    I like that analogy! I am a PR graduate myself and I prefer playing on the team.

Leave a Reply

