Celebrity Adoptions

As a future adoptive parent (we’ll get into the story behind this at a later date), I take note when adoption is in the news and seems to have been a hot topic for the last few years.

It’s almost a new trend for celebrities to adopt. Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt have a handful of adopted children, Senator John McCain is an adoptive parent and so is rapper DMC. Adoptive parents run the gamut from actors to politicians to rappers and of course normal folk like you and me. So, is adoption among celebrities really a way for them to do good or is it a publicity (note the word publicity, not PR because no decent public relations practitioner would advise a client to adopt a child to fix a bad reputation) stunt?

I think it’s both – sort of. I think celebrities legitimately want to use their wealth and opportunity to help a child in need. But, I also think they get the idea from other celebrities who have graced magazine covers lately and they want a piece of the spotlight.

Overall? I think it’s a good trend. Children all over this planet need homes full of love and opportunity. It’s not all about money, but money does help. Sandra Bullock can guarantee that baby Louis will get a good education and Steven Spielberg will make sure that Theo and Mikaela (his two adopted children) will have all their needs met.

But, I leave it open to you. Any opinions on the subject?

About Courtney

I love to write - I even work in Corporate Communications. But my favorite thing to write are children's stories. Luckily, I have lots of little cousins to test them on!
This entry was posted in Adoption, Babies, News, Public Relations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

