Open Adoption

As you can probably tell already, I am very big on adoption advocacy and the wonderful things that adoption can bring. That being said, I of course recognize that adoption brings happiness and grieving to both parties involved. This NY Times article sums up the pain and joy that is open adoption.

Open adoption has various degrees, but all open adoptions begin with the birthmother/birthparents choosing the family that will parent their child. In closed adoptions, forever families have no contact with birthfamilies ever (besides paper descriptions). This is why I feel so strongly about open adoption. I want to meet the mother of my future child and I want her to meet me so that she can rest assured that my husband and I are excellent parents who will give her child all the love and encouragement in the world.

If you would like to know more about open adoption, visit OpenAdoption.org and OpenAdoptionInsight.org.

About Courtney

I love to write - I even work in Corporate Communications. But my favorite thing to write are children's stories. Luckily, I have lots of little cousins to test them on!
This entry was posted in Adoption, Babies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

