Washington DC

So, I want to move to D.C. Chris wants to stay in Georgia but I’m working on him to change his mind. I spent last weekend in our nation’s capitol for the finals of the Bateman Competition (which we WON! See previous post) and fell in love with the city all over again. We got a private tour of the White House, had dinner at the fantastic restaurant Zola and had breakfast with my role model.

The Batemates in DC

WHITE HOUSE

Us with Jesse - second in command of the White House social media team

Dr. Sweetser is awesome for many reasons but the current one is because she is connected in the government and scored us the opportunity to meet with the White House social media team. We also got a private tour of the White House – including the Oval Office!

Walking along the main garden of the White House during our private tour

We learned how the social media team uses its @whitehouse account to connect with constituents, how the government is trying to be more interactive with its publics and what steps they take to ensure transparency.

We toured the gorgeous gardens of the White House, looked at photographs of President Obama’s term and saw politically-charged celebrities Kal Penn and Malin Akerman.

ZOLA

Kristin, Magan and me at Zola

This is my second time this year at this amazing DC restaurant. When I was in DC back in February for some agency tours we went to Zola, which is connected to the Spy Museum. I had goat-cheese stuffed tomatoes that may be the best side I’ve ever eaten.

My yummy steak from Zola

Sadly, they change the menu every month so I had to branch out and try something new. Luckily, my meal was just as delicious as before. I had the New York Strip but it was more a work of art than a dish to eat. It was beautiful, really.

MEG

Meg works at Lockheed Martin in DC. She is my hero. She has one of those personalities that make you instantly happy when you’re around her. I shadowed with her in February and she happily woke up before dawn on a Saturday morning to have breakfast with me while I was in town last weekend.

She is my role model because she is the person I want to be in a few years. She has a great job that she loves (with the company I hope to work for), she is always positive and optimistic, she cares about the world and works hard to pursue her passions. She makes time in her busy life for her family and friends. I can’t say enough good things about her!

So…my trip to DC was great. I can’t wait to go back to visit, however, my next trip will be to NYC to visit Lizzy who landed an awesome job in the city!

In front of the White House. See our super-cool "Appointment" badges?

About Courtney

I love to write - I even work in Corporate Communications. But my favorite thing to write are children's stories. Luckily, I have lots of little cousins to test them on!
This entry was posted in Cooking, PRSSA, Public Relations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

